Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Two More SSD Teachers Achieve National Board Certification
Lauren Goins
Wednesday, December 02, 2015

Candace Wilson, 8th grade science teacher at Sheridan Junior High School, and Susan Coles, 12th grade literacy teacher at Sheridan High School, achieved National Board Certification -- the most respected professional certification available in education.

To achieve this prestigious honor, applicants must go through a rigorous and performance-based, peer-review process. Certification consists of four components: written assessment of content knowledge, reflection on student work samples, video and analysis of teaching practice, and documented impact and accomplishments as a teaching professional.

“Studies show that the students of Board-certified teachers learn more than students of non-certified teachers,” said Sheridan School District Superintendent Jerrod Williams. “We are proud to now have 22 Board-certified faculty members.”

Arkansas National Board Certified Teachers receive an annual $5,000 bonus through the Arkansas Department of Education. Board-certified teachers at the Sheridan School District receive an additional $3,000 through the district for the first year of certification and an annual $2,000 for the remainder of the license.

Sheridan School District's National Board Certified Teachers are as follows: Kathy Dickinson, Angela Hollinger, Jacklin McCoy, Ron McHone, Kim Scarbrough, Kelly Wolfe, Dennis Wolfe, Tara Derby, Dana Morton, Morgan Wilson, Jeanne Gartman, Janna Koon, Ailene Easley, Brandi Williams, Beverly Long, Kara Washington, Alicia Parker, Philip Wesson, Tracy Criss, Lindsey Bohler, Jayme Claassen, Susan Coles, and Candace Wilson.