Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Forty-Seven Students at Sheridan High Earn AP Scholar Recognition
Lauren Goins
Wednesday, July 20, 2016

SHERIDAN, Ark. -- Sheridan School District is pleased to announce the College Board has awarded 47 Sheridan High School students various AP Scholar designations due to their success attaining qualifying scores on Advanced Placement Exams in 2016.

“Our AP Scholar success is indicative of the excellent work ethic of many students and the efforts of their teachers,” said Roy Wilson, Sheridan’s Gifted and Talented / AP Coordinator. “The AP program is very advantageous to our students, as it helps students prepare for the rigor of college courses, while also providing them the opportunity to earn college credit in high school, saving them both time and money.”

Thirty-five students earned AP Scholar status, which recognizes students receiving scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams:


Dylan Allbritton, Victoria Burnett, Mitchell Clothier, Tristen Davis, Shelby Gatlin, Sierra Hedden, Jonathon Jodoin, Kendall Lucas, Sarah Michael, Sara O’Rorke, Garrett Red, Isaac Reichenbach, Keagan Smith, Seth Strange, Alyssa VanSickle, and Annika Wade.


Andrey Archer, Tristan Bodiford, Cody Clingan, Sean Fitzgerald, Ashlynn Henson, Sean Holland, Moriah Manchack, Madeline Martin, Taylor McGarity, Haley Morton, Michaela Partridge, David Rainwater, Daniel Read, Alyssa Savage, Rachel Smith, Michael Stone, Hunter Strom, James Vance, and Maggie Winters.

Five students were awarded the AP Scholar with Honor designation for averaging a score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, with scores of 3 or higher on four or more exams:


Shanna Hornaday, Brennan Lowrey, and Jasper Owens.


Cassie Clement and Keller Smith.

Seven students earned the prestigious AP Scholar with Distinction Award for receiving an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, with scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams:


Cameron Brownlee, Zachary Cantrell, Nathanael Grimes, Sarah Handloser, Holton Smith, and Dylan Thompson.


Luke Smith.

The highest College Board award, AP National Scholar, was earned by Dylan Thompson, Sheridan High School senior. This award is reserved for students receiving an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.