The Grant County Chamber of Commerce has chosen three Sheridan School District employees to receive their organization's Teacher of the Year awards. The recipients learned of the honor through surprise presentations that took place in their respective classrooms Tuesday afternoon. The Chamber presented awards to one secondary teacher and two primary teachers from among the nominees the District presented in January. 

The 2022 recipients were Beth Vaccaro from Sheridan High School, Amy Casey from Sheridan Intermediate School, and Alisa Alderman from East End Intermediate School. 

Vaccaro has 19 years teaching experience, including 15 in her current position as an English teacher at SHS. Casey has 23 years experience, including 13 as a fifth grade classroom teacher and 10 in her current role as a Library Media Specialist at SIS. Alderman has been teaching 22 years, including 15 with the Sheridan School District and the past six in her current position as a fourth grade teacher.

Making the presentations were Tina Hurtt and Jake Easley representing the Grant County Chamber, SSD interim Superintendent Dr. Jerry Guess, and the each staff member's respective campus administration.