AP Scholars graphic

Sheridan High School students had outstanding results this year taking various Advanced Placement exams and earning college credit.

During May and June of 2022, students at Sheridan High School took a total of 486 Advanced Placement exams that tested the content knowledge and skills gained in each of their AP courses.  Each qualifying score of 3, 4, or 5 equates to earned college credit, tuition savings, and proof of a student’s ability to handle college-level coursework.  In recent years, SHS expanded its offerings to a total of 20 AP courses, making it one of the local leaders in the number of AP courses available. 

In 2022, Sheridan High School students had a total of 223 qualifying scores, up from 186 in 2021.

College Board recently announced the 2022 AP Scholar recipients for Sheridan High School based on performance on this year’s AP exams.  A total of 51 AP Scholar Awards at all levels have been granted to students at Sheridan High School. 

Ten SHS students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction awards – the highest award given – with an average score of 3.84.  To receive this recognition, a student must receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken during his/her high school career, as well as score 3 or higher on at least five exams. This year’s AP Scholars with Distinction are Grayson Allen, Savannah Barrentine, John Eckert, Brooke Kidd, Lainey Ray, Drayton Standridge, Cole Sullivan, Alexis Szeflinski, Jordan Thomas and Kailey Thurman.  

Five SHS students were awarded AP Scholar with Honors awards for receiving an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken during their high school careers, as well as scoring 3 or higher on at least four exams.  This year’s AP Scholars with Honor are Patrick Gentry, Madison George, Luke Thurmon, Joanna Wise and Kayla Yin. 

A total of 36 SHS students earned the AP Scholar award, which is awarded to students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams taken during their high school careers.  These students are Blake Allen, Alyssa Autrey, Jodi Barnes, Patrick Barnes, Priscilla Brown, Megan Diotte, Jackson Dowler, Darcy Ellerbee, Hunter Fernandez, Riley Gillis, Egan Gunter, Katelyn Hancock, Josh Handloser, Emma Hardin, Kaitlyn Horton, Noah Householder, Erin James, Wyatt Lester, Caustin Main, Zoe Mayberry, Micah Mooney, Haley Myers, Ryan Nanthalangsy, Graycee Owens, Ashley Pennington, Andrew Pinkerton, Carson Prater, Julia Pye, McKinzee Rainbolt, Jackson Riley, Connor Robinson, Raphael Semon, Shoshiana Vang, Austin Webb, Jonah Williams and Ryleigh Zimmerman. 

Congratulations to these AP Scholars and their teachers for their hard work and well-deserved accomplishment!